[TUTORIAL] Making maparts 101

Hey guys!

I’ve got quite a bit of people messaging me regarding maparts so I thought, I might as well make a tutorial to help peeps out there that wants to make one but are confused where to start!

Disclaimer because it’s the internet: I am not a professional minecraft mod maker, nor do my knowledge of minecraft mods is unlimited. Everything I did was pretty much typing "how do I install x " on google, so if what I’m recommending here isn’t the best, feel free to tell me in comments and I will gladly edit this post to add your suggestion.

Alrighty, we are all set so here we go!

I. The process

Let’s get one myth out of the way: Mapart makers don’t manually chose the blocks they will use for their maparts, nor do they just zoomed in a pixelated version of their picture they want to do and then proceed to somehow put them in game. Well, some of them do, but most of them don’t! It’s actually way simpler than that! What we are using is a schematic version of our picture that has been automatically created by an online mapart generator! Once you activate your schematic in game, it will look like this:

As you can see, the schematic will show you the blocks you need to place, then you just have to place them!
and the most complicated thing is to actually install the mod.

II. The claim

Before anything, you should claim the place your mapart will be. Some claim for every mapart they make, that way the art stays permanently on the server, others rather have one main mapart claim for all their maparts and remove the blocks to make another one once they are finished.
Once you have find a big, empty place to claim (oceans are great for that), make sure your claim is perfectly centered on your map. For that, I recommend filling an empty map, and then finding the corners with blocks:

2021-08-23_13h19_47